Tag Archives: edition records

Daniel Herskedal - Slow Eastbound Train

posted by Jon-Trygve on 08.05.15 10:41 in Music Reviews Print  

This is primarily a downright beautiful album from a musician that has matured a lot within a short timeframe ... Music lovers should keep Herskedal on the radar to see where he goes next, as this album certainly bodes well for the future.

Over the years, a disproportional number of great horn players have come out of Norway, from the likes of Jan Garbarek through Nils Petter Molvær, Arve Henriksen, Karl Seglem, Tore Brunborg and others, to the younger generation of Håkon Kornstad, Mathias Eick etc.


So when Daniel Herskedal releases his third album "Slow Eastbound Train" (Edition Records, 2015), it is only fair to ask if the world really needs yet another horn player from our little country in the North.


Well, I am, after all, Norwegian so maybe I should tread carefully here, but I still choose to answer my own question: "Yes, indeed".


Herskedal plays not one but two somewhat unusual horns as solo instruments, the tuba and the bass trumpet, which sets him apart from all other Norwegian horn players and most of the international ones as well.



* The DPM Rating System
When we rate an album or concert etc we rate it on the "Huzzah!" system. A score can be between 1 and 3 huzzahs:
1 Huzzah! - The reviewer likes it. You should give it a listen!
2 Huzzah! - The reviewer recommends it - and is delighted it is part of his/her collection
3 Huzzah! - The reviewer strongly recommends it - and it has already entered heavy rotation on his/her personal playlists.

On rare occasions there may be a 0 Huzzah! review. The reasons will be explained in the article. On equally rare occasions you may even see a 4 Huzzah ... well explain that another time :)

We dont do negative reviews because we review what we like.

Rate this article: 5 4


your name*

email address*

You may use these HTML tags:<p> <u> <i> <b> <strong> <del> <code> <hr> <em> <ul> <li> <ol> <span> <div>

verification code*




Copyright © Dave's Place Music